Chairman’s Message

The GICAT, serving the French land Defense and Security industry

With more than 240 members in 2018, the GICAT embodies the diversity and the vitality of Defense and Security’s land and air-land sectors. Resolutely forward-looking, our group attempts to meet the expectations and the needs of the institutional and industrial actors.

The companies we represent on the national and international stage – majors, ETI and SME (small and medium enterprises) – contribute to the development of both military and civil capabilities. Our concern is to anticipate needs, in order to implement a better risk and threat on the national territory and worldwide.

The responsibility the industrialists embody happens so in a context where some countries’ intensions to increase their financial efforts in Defense and Security urges us to implement coherent policies dealing with imports and exports. In a more and more competitive sector where new emerging countries have risen, our role is to guarantee the visibility and the know-how of the French companies, while being intermediaries between industrial, institutional and private operators.

More than ever, the French land Defense and Security industry represents a strategic asset in an uncertain and unstable world. That is why the GICAT is fully committed to support the dialogue between French industrialists and national, European and international authorities, to help our members thrive. The GICAT relies primarily relies on the exhibitions it organizes (Eurosatory, Expodefensa and ShieldAfrica) to promote the know-how and the skills of the French industrialists worldwide.

In a narrow synergy with state, political and operational actors, our industrialists are proud to contribute to the excellency of our country’s Defense sector. The GICAT is nothing else than the catalyst of this French excellence at the service of Defense and Security.

Stéphane Mayer
Chairman of GICAT

X

Gicat

Mot du Président

Le GICAT, au service de l’excellence française en matière de Défense et de Sécurité

Avec plus de 200 adhérents en 2016, le GICAT incarne la diversité et la vitalité des secteurs de la Défense et de la Sécurité terrestres et aéroterrestres. Résolument tourné vers l’avenir, notre Groupement s’attache à répondre aux attentes et aux besoins des acteurs institutionnels et industriels.

Les entreprises que nous représentons sur la scène nationale et internationale – grands groupes, ETI et PME – contribuent au développement des capacités militaires et civiles, dans un souci d’anticipation des besoins pour une meilleure gestion des risques et des menaces sur le territoire national et à travers le monde.

Cette responsabilité conférée aux industriels s’inscrit dans un contexte où les intentions de certains pays de revoir à la hausse leurs efforts en matière de défense et de sécurité impliquent une politique cohérente concernant les importations et les exportations. Dans un secteur de plus en plus concurrentiel où de nouveaux pays émergents s’affirment, notre rôle est de garantir la visibilité et les savoir-faire des entreprises françaises, tout en assumant une position d’intermédiaire de référence entre industriels, institutionnels et opérateurs privés.

Plus que jamais, le secteur industriel de Défense et de Sécurité terrestres revêt une dimension stratégique dans un contexte mondial incertain et mouvant. C’est pourquoi le GICAT accompagne au plus près les efforts des industriels français auprès des instances nationales, européennes et internationales, afin de contribuer à leur développement. Le GICAT s’appuie notamment sur ses salons (Eurosatory, Expodefensa et ShieldAfrica) pour promouvoir les savoir-faire et compétences des industriels français à l’étranger.

En étroite synergie avec les acteurs étatiques, politiques et opérationnels, nos industriels sont fiers de contribuer au rayonnement et à la défense de notre pays. Le GICAT n’est autre que le catalyseur de cette excellence française au service de la Défense et de la Sécurité.

Stéphane Mayer
Président du GICAT

Stéphane Mayer ©C-Cosmao-Air & Cosmos